A Magazine I Could Get Into

today, i missed my 4th Yoga class. that makes me sad, because Yoga is the one thing i get to every week that is just for me. even my bedtime is always interrupted by baby cries or a child’s questions, but Yoga class is just for me. someone else is watching the kids, and for 1 hour and 20 minutes, i can set aside my worries about the lunch menu and the housecleaning and concentrate on centering myself. unfortunately, when my children get sick i can’t put them in someone else’s hands to watch, so i have to stay at home with them. to compensate for not going to class i rode my bike. (i usually don’t do cardio on Yoga days) i might try a few poses after the kid’s bedtime, but it just isn’t the same with the hum of the baby monitor in the background, and actually having to think about what i am going to do next rather than be told.

things have been all around pretty bad lately for nearly everybody i know. (if you missed the post on my personal blog, go HERE) i know that things can’t always be perfect, but lately everything seems to be crashing and burning. i am hoping that today will mark the end of that period.

in an attempt for some positive change in the house, i’ve rearranged some furniture and cabinets to make life a little easier and less cluttered. those i have control over, so even if nothing else good comes out of the day, at least my tupperware is a little easier to access, right?

there are also other, smaller, things that happened today to make my day just a little sweeter… and they’re things that i have absolutely no control over. isn’t it wonderful when unexpected positive things happen?

my Proactiv arrived in the mail today, so i can hopefully begin to finally get my acne under control. i’ll let you know how that goes at a later date.

also in the mail was my first issue of Yoga Journal.

throughout my life i’ve gone through many magazine subscriptions. i’ve done Teen, Glamour, Martha Stewart, and various family/cooking oriented magazines. i’ve also received a few women’s health magazines, but the subscriptions never seem to stick. i just lose interest in them when most of the articles don’t pertain to my life or they start repeating themselves. there are only so many decorative paper centerpieces i am willing to make, or cute holiday cupcakes i want to bake. i spotted this magazine for the first time on a rack at the grocery store, and nabbed a subscription card. (i know, bad Nobody!)

it came in the mail today, and i cracked open my first issue as i was in line with the other SUVs and momhicles waiting on their children to be dismissed from school. as i did in my first Yoga class, i knew this magazine was for me. right now they’re hosting a Yoga Blog contest. i know! i’m pretty confident i won’t be chosen, but still. anybody who respects blogging is good in my book.

also, one of the first articles in the issue i was reading was about a woman who struggled with food her entire life. when she started Yoga, her life changed… slowly, she began to eat better and feel better about herself. the article was inspiring, and i hope that someday i will be able to write my own version of a complete life turnaround.

i haven’t gotten through very much of the magazine yet, (duty calls, children first!) but i have a feeling that this is the beginning of a very beautiful relationship. 🙂

Leave a Reply

