Beware the Burnout

today, i’ve learned a very valuable lesson about exercising.

BEWARE THE BURNOUT.

i’ve been cycling a lot this month, but lately i just don’t want to. the idea of jumping back on my bike and huffing and puffing and sweating up a storm just so i can feel better about my body makes my brain want to run under the bedcovers and hide.

i am sick of cycling. i’m sick of the music i play during it, i’m sick of my back being hunched over for 45 minutes and i’m sick of feeling the way my belly fat scrunches up in my cycling shorts while i’m riding. i’m just sick of it.

i am totally burnt out.

i suppose a large contributing factor is that i’m not fitting into my favorite clothing any better. in fact, in the past few months, my legs have gotten more muscular and i can’t wear my favorite jeans anymore. it doesn’t matter if i’m fit and trim, i still can’t fit into my favorite jeans. the other two pairs of good jeans i have are getting real snug around the tops of my knees and thighs too. it’s depressing to be doing all this work towards being healthy and slender, then to have myself grow out of my jeans anyways- even if it is the good kind of “growing out”.

it makes me think “what’s the point???” i was exercising to fit into my jeans, but that plan totally backfired.

i’m sick of cycling. why the hell should i do it if it’s not going to do any good?

the lesson involved here, is that variety really is the spice of life.

-mix up your workout routine so that you aren’t focusing on a single muscle group all the time.

-mix up your routine so you don’t get burnt out on a single routine and stop all together.

-mix up the sights and sounds of your workout routine if you have to stick to the same one. if you like to jog, change directions or areas every once in a while to keep it interesting. same with outdoor cycling.

-if your workout is indoors, mix up your music and try something new every once in a while. rotate between 3 different routines.

Beware the Burnout.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Stepping Up – The Fitness Journals
  2. Tania
    Apr 30, 2012 @ 02:37:40

    was going to be my last comment, but I feel this needs to be said due to your indatquaee logic. I’m not gonna try to refute that 1984 study, but even if high fat foods raise insulin levels higher than high carbs that doesn’t take away from the fact that high carb foods drastically raise insulin (which we both agree is a negative).There is a difference between being good, and being not as bad as analogy: -2 (fruit) > -9 (beef) but that doesn’t make -2(fruit) positive.

    Reply

    • Nobody
      Apr 30, 2012 @ 12:41:51

      what’s that got to do with being burnt out on cycling? and who are you anyways? “was going to be my last comment” uh… this is the first comment you’ve left on this post. “I’m not gonna try to refute that 1984 study” makes no sense, seeing as i didn’t mention any kind of study in this post. did you accidentally stumble across the wrong blog and comment incorrectly? are you a spammer, trying to draw attention to a phony FB account? hmmm…

      Reply

Leave a Reply

