Snacks of the Season

ever since i made Oh She Glows’ Pumpkin Gingerbread with Spiced Buttercream Frosting, i haven’t been able to get it out of my mind. after i halved the amount of salt and added in a handful of raisins, i’ve been craving that stuff with a passion. i think having that piece of delicious vegan goodness melt in my mouth kicked off a craving for winter appropriate snacks.

yesterday, i downed two mugs of honey-sweetened peppermint tea. that’s not amazing for me since i’ve loved that ever since i was a child, but it really hit the spot. today while grocery shopping, i couldn’t resist buying a small half-gallon of apple cider at the grocery store. i’m currently on my second heated mug. how can you blame me, when hot drinks are the only thing keeping my fingers from falling off with the winter chill having taken up permanent residence?

but enough about winter drinkage, my big question lately has been “what do i snack on?”

i love to snack. now that my meals are vegan and have less calories than my previous meat and carb packed fare, i get to snack without too much guilt. the problem i’m running into is what to snack on. i used to eat a wedge of laughing cow cheese with crackers. string cheese. yogurt. chocolate.

no more dairy, says i.

my snacking has changed dramatically to accomodate my change in diet.

today, my snack of choice was a mug of apple cider and a slice of whole wheat bread (okay, i had two slices) slathered with apple butter. oh, the fall goodness. it wasn’t the same as gingerbread and frosting, but it definitely filled the hollow spot in my belly.

another snack of mine is dates. when i first started my vegan way of eating, i went through an entire bag of dates in 2 weeks. my favorite way to eat them is stuffed with some kind of nut… at first it was peanuts, then almonds, then cashews. then- i found the pecans. pecan stuffed dates is absolutely one of the most delicious, satisfying snacks i’ve ever had. NOM.

i have more recipes for exciting things like Pumpkin Spice Sticky Bread and Pumpkin Butter saved on my computer, but until i get around to making them, all i have for you is a picture of toast.

Leave a Reply

