Zucchini Quinoa Lasagna, Exercise Update

first, i’ll start with a recipe. then i’ll move on to the personal (less awesome) stuff.

on a whim and a craving for good Italian food, i made a  Zucchini and Quinoa lasagna from The Vegan Version the other day. SCORE! for vegan cooking. just click on the link to get the recipe.  oh, trust me… it’s worth it! although i should note, i used dried herbs instead of fresh, and it was still delicious. it was filling, satisfying, and super yummy. and HEALTHY! i’m adding it to the list of things i can serve my non-vegan guests. if i ever have any.

 

moving on to the not-so-good stuff….

 

How long did i last on p90x?

a whopping 1 week.

it’s been 2 days, and i haven’t done JACK to get off my butt and get back into shape.

why?

2 days ago i got my yoga mat out to do the p90x Yoga sequence, and as i was reaching towards the ceiling, i felt pathetic. there’s nothing more pathetic than a lonely stay at home mom in her trashy workout gear doing yoga in the middle of the floor.

i went into plank, then down into a pushup, where i brushed the floor into an upward dog. as i released my breath, dog hair and fuzzies scattered away from me. sweat dripped down my forehead.

i jumped my feet to my hands, into a forward fold and watched as my twice-over post-partum belly crinkled and bulged. how depressing. i stood back up, reached for the sky… and answered my daughter’s summons for me to wipe her butt.

really? this is what i’m reduced to? breathing in a vinyasa and dog hair, wiping butts, washing hands, and generally ill because my insurance refused to fill my antacid script. ENOUGH. i had enough. i didn’t want to work out. i wanted to sit on the couch with a good book. i wanted to put a movie in for my daughter, and read while she lays her head on my shoulder and watches tv.

some people would use that to further bolster their energy and say “i have to do this. i have to work harder.” me? no. i use that sight and i just want to crawl under my bed with a bag of marshmallows and a good book, and not come out for at least a week. i don’t know why. i suspect a therapist could probably pick my childhood apart and figure out the exact moment in which i decided that i liked avoiding problems more than actively fixing them. one of the only things i like less than exercise are therapists and psychologists.

i’m hoping to get back to it tomorrow.

we’ll see.

 

 

Leave a Reply

