Running Shoes [Review]

a good pair of running shoes is everything. well, not really. actually… humans run best without any shoes at all. that’s the way our bodies built our feet, and that’s the way it should be. centuries of uncomfortable shoe-wearing have weakened our soles to the point where “Podiatrist” is a lucrative career choice. in an attempt to keep my feet strong and healthy, i have taken to running with as little shoe as possible. i don’t run barefoot because i just don’t have the concentration levels needed to avoid shards of glass, stones, and other road debris.

Enter: Minimalist Shoes.

my entire feminine life has been filled with flat-soled girly shoes, so buying a pair of minimalist running shoes wasn’t that big of a deal for me. in fact, my first pair of “running” shoes were a pair of these:

Merrell Barefoot Life Wonder Glove

they may not look like traditional running shoes, but let me tell you- they performed the task flawlessly. Merrell makes extremely high quality shoes with a Vibram sole, so they’re practically indestructible. recognize the name “Vibram”? yes,they’re the original makers of those ugly-ass toe shoes. toe shoes are great barefoot shoes to run in, but unlike my husband, i just can’t bring myself to sacrifice fashion for practicality. after all, i AM still just a woman. i love my Barefoot Life Wonder Gloves. they’re comfortable, they’re cute, and they’re extremely functional. except… i didn’t want to run in my cute shoes every day, and wear them out sooner.

once i realized that running was something i wanted to do for a long, long time, i decided it was time to splurge on a quality barefoot running shoe. there are tons of brands to choose from. barefootrunningshoes.org is a great resource for seeing all of them lumped into one website. i didn’t do much shopping outside of the Merrell website, though. i trust the Vibram soles and the Merrell quality, and knew that i wanted to go with them.

one thing about barefoot shoes that you have to understand, is that they should literally fit like a glove. i didn’t want to buy a pair of shoes without trying them on first, so i waited. and waited. and waited. then finally, while i was on vacation i found a store with a large selection Barefoot shoes. i tried on 3 different sizes before i went for the 9’s. (i’m normally a 9-9.5 in regular shoes, depending on the brand. my Wonder Glove’s are a 8.5, but a little too snug)

meet my new running shoes:

Women's Barefoot Run Pace Glove

so far, i love them. they have a little more sole than i would like in a barefoot shoe, but they grip the pavement beautifully and make me feel like i can fly. they’re super light, and i love the colors. i have big, fat ankles and feet so they were a little tight across the top of my foot at first, but after a couple runs they’ve really broken in well, and i can slip them on and off with no problems. i didn’t realize it until looking at the Merrell website, but they also come in wide sizes, although not in this color, if you need it. they’re a little pricey ($100) but totally worth the cash. they’re put together well, and i expect them to last a long time.

Merrell Barefoot Run Pace Glove gets 4.5 out of 5 stars from me… i only took the 1/2 a star away for the slight grip and arch support the shoes have. true barefoot shoes shouldn’t have any, imo. either way… i’d buy them again, and if they still make these in 10 years when mine fall apart from use, i’d buy them again.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Choleesa
    Jun 11, 2012 @ 20:29:01

    I didnt even know about your cafe!!!!

    Reply

  2. Rae
    Jun 12, 2012 @ 00:26:29

    My mother and I were walking on the beach the other morning and I commented on how I wear shoes now when as a kid you had to make me put something on. I loved feeling the ground under me. I have a pair of black no name running shoes that are really thin and I can feel the terrain under my feet when I step on uneven footing. I love those shoes. I hope you enjoy your new shoes as much as I do mine.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

