Don’t Forget the World Around You

Yes, I love to run. I love to run 2 miles, but I especially love it when I make it all the way to 13. (FTR, I’ve only done this once so far) One thing I got caught up in for a little while was the running hype. The training… the increasing speed times, the keeping a regular schedule and adjusting everything just so so that I’d go farther and faster. Recently, I threw all that out the window. Running for the sake of competition took all the fun out of running. I couldn’t stop and pick a pretty flower for my daughter because it would mess with my lap times. I couldn’t jog leisurely along, just enjoying a beautiful day because I had to go faster.

Seriously?

Fuck that.

I am running… for what? I am running for my mental health. I am running for my physical health. I am running for alone time and fresh air. Running an 11 minute mile feels just fine to me. Stopping to take pictures is just an added bonus.

Along my favorite running trail there’s one piece of graffiti that I particularly love. I don’t know what it’s supposed to be, and I don’t know if someone even put it there intentionally. I love looking at it, though. I think it’s beautiful. This is just one example of what I love about running.

grafittiangel

Do you see that? What does it look like to you?

I think it looks like a woman. A woman in a pretty flared dress, and huge wings coming out of her back. I guess you could say she looks like an angel…

What does it look like to you?

 

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. pscapp
    Jul 15, 2014 @ 22:15:05

    I see an angel too. Toss the ipod, the phone, the Garmin and just run. Run to just be.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

